Sunday, March 23, 2008

Xenosaga Episode II: Janseits von Gut und Bose



If you read my review of the original Xenosaga then you know how much I loved the game. I had been forewarned that Episode II changed a lot and just wasn't good in general but I threw caution to the wind and played it anyway.

A part of me is sitting here and regretting it while another part was happy with how it all ending. I guess it depends on what kind of gamer you are when it comes to the role playing games.

Do you play for the game play or for the story? Personally I play for the story and as long as the game play isn't utter garbage I can live with it (please note that Magna Carta was so bad I couldn't enjoy its awesome story).

For some reason Namco and pals thought the first game didn't sell enough so they gave this entry a total overhaul and I'll be blunt and say it was the biggest mistake they could have taken with the series.

First of all they changed most of the characters deigns. They gave them a more realistic look and it is just too drastic. When Shion goes from librarian to sexy gal and not a single ounce of her former self remains is just a shame. A few other characters go through this change and it usually isn't a plus.

That isn't the only thing to suffer though. There are fewer cut scenes but they are also of lesser quality. We do get more Earthy locations so it doesn't always feel like a sterile lab which was my only complaint with the original game.

But something else is amiss with this game as well. The story is total cannon. Well, not cannon but it could be summed up so quickly that I can't imagine the amount of time I just invested in this game only for so little to happen. It reminds me of a Wheel of Time novel where Jordan would spend 1000+ pages describing one day and not even cover all of the main characters.

The game jumps 14 years into the past and then back to where the original game ended. We learn a lot about our villain this time around and frankly this game has a truly amazing ending this is both haunting and beautiful. It actually made everything else worth while as I think only 5 things really happen in the plot that is even worth mentioning. Now I see why my friend said the entire plot is briefed to you at the start of Episode III.

I can just continue with the new flaws that have been created for this series. Next up on the serving platter is the sound. The voice cast has been given a major overhaul and it's sad because some of these new voices are terrible and while I don't have to listen to Izzy from Digimon any longer it did kind of grow on me and these new changes aren't very good. The games music also feels a bit tamer and not as emotional (excluding the finale). Sadly the vocal tracks are ear bleeders and no one should ever be forced to hear them again.

At the core of it's game play, Xenosaga Episode II remains the same. It's the little tweaks that have been made that really push the game play into a new realm and it isn't exactly an enjoyable one.

A quick refresher for those who haven't played the original (seriously, why play a trilogy out of order...). This is a turn based role playing game. Enemies are seen on the screen and you need to be near each other for combat to kick in.

Combat still maintains a front and back row for you and the enemy. Not only that we still have the little bonus bar which gives you a special bonus after each fight but I found myself worrying less about getting a good bonus and more about trying to get the game play under control.

You still string together attack with the square and triangle button. It's a little easier to figure out the moves and the menu is much more clean cut which is nice. The problem is that you get a few extra options like storing attacks and gaining extra multipliers. it sounds good but it becomes overly complex and the difficulty is rather high when it shouldn't be.

I'm not sure what really ruined it for me but it felt like the game was just trying to hard to be different that it not only alienated the typical role player but also the fans of the series.

It's not terrible by any means, it just isn't as solid and focused as what we had in the first title. I really don't know what else I can say about the game play. You can still use items, use your mecha unit and all that jazz. it's just the tweaks to the game play that hinder the enjoyment.

So while we fixed my only complaint with the original game we have also created many flaws along the way. Some fans may be offended by the changes and others might find them refreshing. I felt like I was more in the middle ground with being all for some change but the design changes the the lack of a real plot really hurt it all for me.

I hear this entire game is summed up in the third title and we'll find out soon enough. So much happens with the characters and yet it can be summed up much quicker that I can't figure out why they wasted an entire game with it. It was nice though to have some side quests which is something the original seriously lacked.

Story - 7/10
Graphics - 7/10
Sound - 6/10
Control - 9/10
Game Play - 7/10
Replay Value - 4/10

Final Score - 6/10

Friday, March 7, 2008

.Hack//GU Volume 1: Rebirth



I'm a big .Hack// fan. I've read the manga, the novels, seen both anime series, plus the OVA and I have the collectors edition of this game.

First and for most let me say if you haven't watched the anime ".Hack//Roots" then please do so before playing this game. This is a direct sequel to that anime and the background history is needed. This game takes place around episode 22 of the anime.

Haseo has been data drained down to level 1 after his huge player killer killing spree which frankly was awesome in the anime. So now he's starting out and no one believes him when he says who he is.

The plot really takes a back seat here and it really feels more like a Hack story than the original 4 game series did. We explore the new characters and their motives all the while learning about everything that is new in The World.

The game also features the voice talent from the anime so it feels a lot more natural than some other things we've seen lately. Not only that but the game provides some decent tunes as well. While I wouldn't say it's as good as the anime or the previous game series, it's good enough.

The game might look the same to fans of the original game but man oh man have things changed. We still use key words to create a three word structure to open locations. What's different is that we no longer have a world and then a dungeon. It's just one place to explore.

My biggest problem with the original games is much more noticeable in this one. The locations are few and far between. We get caves, Japanese buildings or a bunch of islands. It doesn't vary past that.

However the game does do something different. Each types plays different. The islands require you to collect three symbols from three chests surrounded by enemies to open the door to the treasure. The caves work as a straight forward level and the Japanese building requires you to kick little rodents and use their spirits to open doors. It's not as complicated as it sounds as yellow rodents drop a soul worth ten while blue are one and most doors require 5 points.

But this isn't the only new thing for the game. The entire battle system has been revamped. Fans of Okami may find a familiarity to it all as you walk around you can see the enemies in groups of thee and a circle will appear around you and you just kill the guys. This works better than the past Hack games which were more hectic in nature.

Even the battle system has been overhauled and you can use your skills via a quick access menu from holding R1 and hitting one of the buttons. It works nicely and the fighting feels more like a 3D version of a Tales title than the clunky nature of the original game.

Your partner AI has also been improved over the past games and they seem to actually think on their own and heal you when it is needed.

The game isn't perfect though as it does have some flaws. First while the graphics are very pretty and have a total anime flavor to them, there is so nasty draw distance which does detract from the experience. There is also only one true town in this game so it isn't like there is a lot to see which is a shame. The cut scenes look great though.

Besides that we run into many tedious moments in the game. You will arrive in The World to talk to someone, receive an email and need to log out. Fine but when you do this about 5 times in a row it can drive you mad. Why can't I just check my mail without logging out of the world?

The game does do a fine job of creating a lively atmosphere with constant emails and chains with friends. You also get news feeds, community boards, message board and gaming news. The game provides an overload of information to dive into and for that one can be grateful as it makes this feel like a real MMO.

There are a few other things that the game has going on as well. The game features an arena which is basic fighting but against tougher enemies and you gain points and can rank up. This is very plot based as well and you'll spend a lot of time there in this volume of the game.

The other big change is the data drain segments. Instead of being painfully dull we go into a Dragon ball Z type mode where we float in the air, shoot stuff and dash and strike. It reminds me of the combat in Zone of the Enders actually. I enjoyed it for what it is but some of the enemies, which are pretty much the only bosses, are tough and you need to learn their patterns. There are no items or anything either so you can't really prepare for it all.

The game isn't exactly long either but it does feel a lot more real. You can run into random players in field and if someone is trying to player kill them you can help them out. You can still trade with other gamers. There is still the book of Ryu that contains every type of thing you do and rewards you with new desktop themes and music.

Not only that though but the game offers missions to undertake. These are fairly simple but add a nice diversion but that's what the game does anyway. This entire volume feels like it's a side quest to the real meat of the title and that might not be such a bad thing really as the ending left me wanting more and I was torn between starting Volume 2 or playing Xenosaga Episode II.

Hack fans will eat this game up and the more casual role player should also get enjoyment from this game. It doesn't force mundane tasks like the original did (core hunting...) and it has enough side stuff to do to keep anyone interested well past the credits. Just be warned that it will require three full games to get the whole story and you owe it to yourself to watch the anime before hand as it will flesh everything out a little more.

Story - 8/10
Graphics - 8/10
Sound - 8/10
Control - 9/10
Game Play - 8/10
Replay Value - 6/10

Final Score - 8/10

Xenosaga: Episode I: Der Wille zur Macht Review



I bought Xenogears on it's release day and it took me a good 6 years to actually beat the game. I liked parts of it but as a whole I had some problems with it that really brought it down.

So I really didn't have a whole lot of interest in Xenosaga. It had a huge following but that doesn't always mean it's a good game but I bought them anyway when they were super cheap and all three were out so I wouldn't be left waiting if I did become hooked.

Well, I finally finished Episode I last week but I'm just now bringing myself to write this review. The fact that I tried to play Episode II and realized it was too different for me to continue that without writing this is a sign of problems to come for the series but we're just going to talk about Episode I here.

Here's a warning to the ill informed. This is a cut scene heavy title. It's very anime influenced and very wordy. Some cut scene stretches can take up to 15 minutes, sometimes even longer.

With that out of the way I must say this is one of the most visually stunning titles on the PS2. The CGI is beautiful and everything is so nicely detailed. This is mostly due to the entire game taking place in shiny ships and other sci-fi locations. It also for a more realistic look without showing real terrain. It does make for a stark adventure but it all looks fantastic.

What's odd though is the characters while heavily influenced by anime, they still have a very sharp design to them. Not only that but there's one American looking character by the name of Captain Matthews. He doesn't fit the mold of rest of the game but he's that wise-ass captain you just have to love.

Actually, all of the characters are likeable and that's the biggest draw of the game for me. I liked the characters. Shion is your Liberian like character, not some sexed up teenage girl with a bosom to smoother small tribes. But the scene stealer is Albedo who is by far the most awesome villain to grace a video game since the pure evilness of Kafka in Final Fantasy VI.

The voice work also helps to bring the characters to life and I doubt any of them made me cringe like in a few other recent role playing games. However, it does seem odd to hear the voice of the guy who did Izzy in Digimon doing the voice of Junior. I do love Crispin Freemen as Albedo, knocks it right out of the ball park.

The plot is a little tough to explain as it has a lot of backdrop to it but basically KOS-MOS is a reploid of sorts, a prototype if you will and she has unmentionable power, there is also some sort of evil conspiracy between warring nations and then throw in a tiny bit of religion and you might just grasp the plot line I really don't want to ruin anything and frankly it's just hard to talk about it as it took so much time to build it all up with over 70 cut scenes.

Sadly I can't say I found the game play itself to be overly exciting. Don't get me wrong it isn't bad but it comes off as a little too complex at the start. Fans of Xenogears will feel right at home almost as it continues the idea of have different attacks formed to the X and square button. You can then combo off of that. It's good and all but what makes it all complex is a little bar and if you finish a fight with it on a specific bonus you can get excellent rewards that will help boost your character and their moves.

AP is used to upgrade time, power and all that jazz for these skills so it becomes kind of hectic as you need that plus gaining levels so I found myself delaying wins in battles to get the perfect boost that would help me. It actually became tedious after a while.

It's almost as if the game play is in the way of the plot and maybe that is a problem but I'm a role player who enjoys a plot over the game play any day because I'm playing for the plot just to hit a button and sit and wait for my turn.

Anyway, you can also do combat in your mecha units. This plays out a lot like normal combat but placement on the grid and specific moves may be required to actually deal decent damage. You also don't have as many options as you do in human form.

So while the combat is fairly deep I just felt that it got in the way of me progressing the epic story line. It isn't as grand of a tale as Xenogears but the voice work really helps move it at a much smoother pace then reading walls of text on philosophy for 30 minutes.

To round out this entire package is one of the most beautiful scores I've ever heard. I must own this soundtrack. All of the music was done by the London Philharmonic Orchestra. The Hymn in the game is hauntingly beautiful and every piece fits the moment perfectly. I haven't been this enthralled with a soundtrack in a very long time.

It might not be for everyone so you may want to give the game a rent. Remember that it's the first part of a trilogy and it has a ton of cut scenes. I do recommend it highly to any die hard role playing fans out there. It's well worth the investment and it provides a decent enough ending that you may not have to venture forth into the sequel, which uses a clear save from this title for some bonus features.

Story - 10/10
Graphics - 10/10
Sound - 10/10
Control - 9/10
Game Play - 9/10
Replay Value - 3/10

Final Score - 10/10